Goetz Collection

Oberföhringer Straße 103
81925 Munich

Tel. +49 (0)89 9593969-0
Fax. +49 (0)89 9593969-69

[email protected]

Information on visiting Sammlung Goetz

Information for the disabled on visiting Sammlung Goetz

opening hours How to find us Contact

Visitation is possible during opening hours:

Please select an appointment on our login page. The appointment time indicates the span for your entry but not the duration of your stay. Further information on tours and our special events can be found here.

Größere Kartenansicht

Take the Subway U4 to "Richard-Strauss-Straße". Change here for bus # 188 (direction Unterföhring, Fichtenstraße) to bus stop "Bürgerpark Oberföhring".

Take the streetcar # 16 or # 18, or bus # 54 or # 154 to "Herkomerplatz". Change here for bus # 188 (direction Unterföhring, Fichtenstraße) to bus stop "Bürgerpark Oberföhring".

Individual timetable information:

Search results

The Mystery of Painting
October 29, 2001 – April 5, 2002 | Goetz Collection

Today, painting distinguishes itself by stylistic diversity, visual pleasure and its own intrinsic logic. For the group exhibition The Mystery of Painting, Sammlung Goetz has selected ten positions from its holdings of paintings.

Painting has often been declared dead. Despite this, it has maintained its vitality and diversity over the centuries as hardly any other medium. The ten artists in the group exhibition The Mystery of Painting are not related by a common style, but by a common attitude to painting. "What they have in common is that they do not paint a picture of the world, but about the world," explains Ingvild Goetz. They masterfully transcend traditional categories of 'representational' and 'abstract', look for points of departure in pop culture and folk art and do not shy away from close proximity to the decorative or to kitsch. Most of these artists belong to the younger generation. Their works were created in the late 1990s. Many of them are being shown in Germany for the first time.

Ellen Gallagher, Toba Khedoori, Karen Kilimnik, Udomsak Krisanamis, Sarah Morris, Chris Ofili, Laura Owens, Lari Pittman, Neo Rauch, Matthew Ritchie